Self-Taught Guitarists United

Group options
Add to favorites
Forward to a friend

How did you teach yourself to play?

Riff Driven

How exactly did you do it? Books, Magazines, UG, YouTube? Why did you do it? The intoxicating need to learn a certain riff/solo? The desire to just make loud noises? Or simply because an old guitar happened to be there in times of severe boredom? Tell us your story.
How exactly did you do it? Books, Magazines, UG, YouTube? Why did you do it? The intoxicating need to learn a certain riff/solo? The desire to just make loud noises? Or simply because an old guitar happened to be there in times of severe boredom? Tell us your story.  
Posted: May 10, 2010 5:32 AM - Quote - Report!

electric killer

well let me think september 21 i think it was ipicked up my guitar which i left there for a year(i am ashamed) started hiting a few strings and it didn't sound to bad so i went on google the next day found a few chords and learnt my first song highway to hell acdc well let me think september 21 i think it was ipicked up my guitar which i left there for a year(i am ashamed) started hiting a few strings and it didn't sound to bad so i went on google the next day found a few chords and learnt my first song highway to hell acdc
Posted: May 25, 2010 2:05 PM - Quote - Report!

zeppdc

well i us UG books youtube google and yeah i also learn by ear well i us UG books youtube google and yeah i also learn by ear
Posted: May 26, 2010 7:55 AM - Quote - Report!

Crofty89

I'm self taught from UG and Total Guitar magazine, all because my friend was selling an acoustic cheap. I'm now re-learning from a book called From Zero to Rock Hero because I missed a fair bit of important stuff. I'm self taught from UG and Total Guitar magazine, all because my friend was selling an acoustic cheap. I'm now re-learning from a book called From Zero to Rock Hero because I missed a fair bit of important stuff.
Posted: Sep 2, 2010 9:20 PM - Quote - Report!

metalkamikazee